This morning the nominees for the Manager of the Year were announced. Brendan Rodgers, Alan Archibald, Jim Duffy and Derek McInnes are the four candidates.

Alan Archibald for taking Partick Thistle to a top six finish, Jim Duffy for guiding newly promoted Morton to the Championship play-offs, and Derek McInnes for what looks like second place  and two cup finals, both against Celtic.

And of course our very own Brendan Rodgers, managing Celtic to a sixth successive league title, a League Cup win, a Scottish Cup final and a 42 game unbeaten domestic run. The obvious favourite.

But logic doesn’t always prevail with these awards.

In the last ten years, Celtic have won the top division title seven times, with Rangers (IL) winning it three times. Gordon Strachan won the award twice but both Neil Lennon and Ronny Deila, who won five titles between them never got a sniff.

During their tenure at Celtic Park, the managers of Ross County, Inverness Caley Thistle and wait for it, Queen of the South, were all deemed more worthy winners than the Celtic bosses.

But to cap it all off, last season Mark Warburton, won the award for managing Sevco to the Championship, while his fellow second tier boss Alan Subbs of Hibs was overlooked after taking the Edinburgh side to two major cup finals.


So, although in reality, no one can touch Brendan Rodgers as Celtic continue our domestic domination, these awards have a habit of rewarding people for all the wrong reasons.